France, Hungary, the Netherlands and Sweden form joint RMS for glyphosate

In December 2017, the authorisation of the active substance glyphosate was renewed for five years. At the insistence of a number of Member States, this authorisation period is shorter than usual and will expire in 2022. To enable the European Commission (EC) to decide on the authorisation in 2022, the process for the subsequent renewal will begin in December 2019. In July 2018, the EC proposed that a group of Member States could jointly undertake the reassessment of glyphosate. This proposal was due in part to the extensive dossier for this active substance. During the meeting of the Standing Committee on Plants, Animals, Food and Feed (SCOPAFF) on xx March 2019 (??), it was agreed that ANSES (France), Ctgb (the Netherlands), KEMI (Sweden) and Nébih (Hungary) would jointly form the Rapporteur Member State (RMS) for the renewal of the glyphosate authorisation. At the same meeting an amendment to the Implementing Regulation (EU) No. 844/2012 was approved that allows several Member States to jointly assume the role of RMS.

The group that will assess the dossier will operate under the working name AGG: the Assessment Group on Glyphosate. By including these four countries, the Group has ensured a balanced distribution across the three zones and across Eastern and Western Europe. The four countries will act jointly as a single RMS, and in 2020 they will submit a single draft assessment report to the European Food Safety Authority (Efsa). Further information (also on the assessment process) is provided centrally, is regularly updated and can be found at https://ec.europa.eu/food/plant/pesticides/glyphosate_en

The application for renewal of the substance authorisation must be submitted by the applicant(s) no later than 15 December 2019. The final dossier to be assessed must be submitted by June 2020, after which the final assessment will begin.